Most rice varieties are gluten free, but there are some varieties that you should be aware of. We explain all.

Q: Is Rice Gluten Free?

A: Yes, in most cases it is safe to assume that rice is gluten free.

Q: What Types of Rice Are Gluten Free?

A: All kinds of plain rice varieties are gluten free. Whether it’s whole-grain brown rice, polished white rice or long grain basmati rice, they’re all considered gluten free.

Q: How About the More Exotic Sounding Types of Rice, Surely they Contain Gluten?

A: You’ll be happy to know that even the more ‘exotic’ varieties like wild rice and black rice are gluten free and perfect for your diet.

Q: Are There Any Types of Rice I Shouldn’t Eat?

A: Yes, there are some varieties of rice that you should be aware of. This mainly involves forms of flavoured rice mixes, as these can sometimes contain gluten based ingredients that wouldn’t otherwise be clear. Although plain rice from any manufacturer is usually gluten free, flavoured rice can contain other contaminants that may cause problems for those with celiac disease or anyone who is sensitive to gluten.

These ingredients usually come in the form of wheat-based thickeners such as hydrolysed wheat protein or flavour enhancers such as wheat-based soy sauce. But just because some flavoured rice contains gluten doesn’t mean that all of it does.

Q: Which Types of Your Rice Are Gluten Free?

A: A number of products from our Heat & Eat range are gluten free;

Our Microwaveable Basmati Rice

Our Microwaveable Long Grain Rice

Our Microwaveable Basmati & Wild Rice

Our Microwaveable Thai Jasmine Rice

Our Microwaveable Wholegrain Brown Rice

Our Microwaveable Pilau Brown Rice

Our Microwaveable Egg Fried Rice

Our Microwaveable Thai Lime & Herb Rice

Our Microwaveable Peri Peri Rice

Our Microwaveable Golden Vegetable Rice

Our Microwaveable Chicken Flavour Rice

Our Microwaveable Spicy Mexican Style Rice

Q: So, Do Any of Your Products Contain Gluten?

A: Yes, we do have some flavoured rice varieties that contain gluten based ingredients. That’s why it is always important to read the label before you buy flavoured or microwavable rice as some varieties can contain gluten. Although most other plain varieties of rice are gluten free, you should always make sure you check for any other ingredients or preservatives that could be harmful.

This post is not intended to provide medical advice, which should be obtained directly from a healthcare professional.